Tuesday, January 26, 2016

The Rising costs of Drugs

Check out this post: The Rising costs of Drugs http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/the-rising-costs-of-drugs T ....The rising costs of drugs is covered in this piece offering some thoughtful insights into

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

The Problem with Celebrity Medical Advice

Check out this post: The Problem with Celebrity Medical Advice http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/the-problem-with-celebrity-medical-advice The challenge with taking advice from celebrities is you never know what the underlying drivers are. FDA Responds to Kardashian Post In this case the FDA has to respond to social media posts from Kardashian who has 35 Million followers and 45 Million on Instagram and offers up Diclegis for pregnancy associated nausea. ....The challenge with taking advice from celebrities is you never know what the underlying

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

The New Era of Open Medicine

Check out this post: The New Era of Open Medicine http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/the-new-era-of-open-medicine “You are all individuals” Brian, speaking to the masses in Monty Python’s Life of Brian. Finally, medicine is getting the message. One of my school friends was part of the original genome project that kicked off in 1984, finally got underway in 1990, and reached completion in 2003. ....“You are all individuals” Brian, speaking to the masses in Monty Python’s Life of

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Collaboration and Sharing in Science

Check out this post: Collaboration and Sharing in Science http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/collaboration-and-sharing-in-science The world of patents has gone mad as evidenced by companies that develop little but purchase patents portfolios to then file suit as a business model. .... The world of patents has gone mad as evidenced by companies that develop little but

Monday, December 28, 2015

Notable Medical Advances

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Notable Medical Advances http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/notable-medical-advances J .......Jerome Groopman's highlights of medical advances form 2015: source Coming at the bottom

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Healthy Living Starts with You

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Healthy Living Starts with You http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/healthy-living-starts-with-you Human capital – the stock of knowledge, habits, social and personality attributes embodied in the ability to perform labor so as to produce economic value. When reading the above definition of human capital, a particular word jumps out… habits. I am passionate about habits because poor lifestyle choices—or bad habits—are the number one driver of today’s health crisis. .......Human capital – the stock of knowledge, habits, social and personality attributes

Wearable’s Health and Voice The Perfect Storm

Check out this post: Wearable’s Health and Voice The Perfect Storm http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/wearables-health-and-voice-the-perfect-storm T ....This is a summary of the presentation I gave at the HIC 2015 conference in Brisbane on

Monday, December 14, 2015

Doctors and Patients - Who Knows Best

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Doctors and Patients - Who Knows Best http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/doctors-and-patients-who-knows-best T .......The Power of Knowledge Life has changed and access to information is no longer the

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

New Horizons for me at Dell

Check out this post: New Horizons for me at Dell http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/dellcmo I am excited to announce I am joining Dell Healthcare and Life Sciences  as their Chief Medical Officer. ....I am excited to announce I am joining Dell Healthcare and Life Sciences  as their Chief

Friday, December 4, 2015

The Incredible Progress in Medicine

Here\'s my latest blogpost: The Incredible Progress in Medicine http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/the-incredible-progress-in-medicine Looking back at the history of medicine is fascinating (Victorian Medicine - from Fluke to Theory). Medicine was a combination of chance and quackery but over the course of the the last century has made incredible leaps. Science became an integral and training more formalized and increasingly specialized. .......Looking back at the history of medicine is fascinating (Victorian Medicine - from Fluke

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Taming the Dragon

Check out this post: Taming the Dragon http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/taming-the-dragon   After an exciting 5 years with Nuance, I am saying goodbye to pursue a new opportunity. As is often the case with major decisions like this, I have had a chance to reflect on how far we have come and how many people I have had the privilege of working with in what has been an exhilarating and fulfilling journey. ....  After an exciting 5 years with Nuance, I am saying goodbye to pursue a new

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

mHealth - The Small Matter of Price

Check out this post: mHealth - The Small Matter of Price http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/mhealth-the-small-matter-of-price T ....This week I had the fortune of speaking at the Connected Health - Healthcare Reinvented -

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Healthcare Technology need to include Patients

Check out this post: Healthcare Technology need to include Patients http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/healthcare-technology-need-to-include-patients A survey conducted at HIMSS15 found that patient satisfaction and patient engagement rank among the top priorities for CIOs. In fact, they rank above improving care coordination, streamlining operational efficiencies, and achieving Meaningful Use. The tides are clearly changing. We’ve all been talking about what the shift to a value-based care model means for healthcare organizations. ....A survey conducted at HIMSS15 found that patient satisfaction and patient engagement rank

Monday, November 9, 2015

Our Remote Future in Healthcare

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Our Remote Future in Healthcare http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/our-remote-future-in-healthcare Its an exciting time to be in healthcare and medicine - technology is bringing so much innovation and opportunity to improve the delivery, quality and reduce the cost of healthcare. Much remains to be done At our our recent DellWorld conference we captured insights into this exciting future As Dr. .......Its an exciting time to be in healthcare and medicine - technology is bringing so much

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Why All Doctors Should be on Twitter

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Why All Doctors Should be on Twitter http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/why-all-doctors-should-be-on-twitter The title on the article is actually "Why all Retina Doctors Should be on Twitter" - but i think should read all doctors source Social media is an open forum for learning, sharing and engagement and is where the patients. .......The title on the article is actually "Why all Retina Doctors Should be on Twitter" - but

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Memorial Weekend - Be Happy

Check out this post: Memorial Weekend - Be Happy http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/memorial-weekend-be-happy This memorial day is a good time to reflect and give thanks - in fact this visual gives a great sense of the sacrifices of so many for our freedoms and life today Original from Facebook Here's one for the SHARE button. A truly powerful image that tells it like it is. ....This memorial day is a good time to reflect and give thanks - in fact this visual gives a

Thursday, October 22, 2015

DellWorld and Healthcare Disruption

Here\'s my latest blogpost: DellWorld and Healthcare Disruption http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/backtothefuturedellworld B .......Back in 1985 the world was introduced to the Doc and Marty McFly in the iconic movie

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Healthcare Disruption

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Healthcare Disruption http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/backtothefuturedellworld B .......Back in 1985 the world was introduced to the Doc and Marty McFly in the iconic movie

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

HITMC Conference Review First Day

Check out this post: HITMC Conference Review First Day http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/hitmc-conference-review-first-day I ....I attended the Health IT Marketing and PR Conference Schedule (HITMC) brought to you by

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Calling Doctor Data

Here\'s my latest blogpost: Calling Doctor Data http://drnick.vanterheyden.com/calling-doctor-data With a nod to Star Trek, Bones, Data and even the Holo Doctor Much of medical practice is as much a mystery to doctors as it is to patients. Human physiology is so complex, and the external variables so numerous, that we often have no sure knowledge of why one patient did well or another patient didn't. Every physician longs for some way to really know what will work for each patient. ....... With a nod to Star Trek, Bones, Data and even the Holo Doctor Much of medical practice